fsx: test copy_file_range() using non-zero length copy
authorBrian Foster <bfoster@redhat.com>
Wed, 10 Apr 2019 11:13:59 +0000 (07:13 -0400)
committerEryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
Sat, 13 Apr 2019 03:01:30 +0000 (11:01 +0800)
commit2516e6cd4e988d5acd788b0713fda8103551701b
tree09ca32b8cd1f6bad7464c09cd6225a2168587ad5
parent4fbdfbe246cd474fbdcc548333cdad3f5792cc68
fsx: test copy_file_range() using non-zero length copy

The copy_file_range() test detection code performs a zero-length
copy to determine whether to perform such calls during the test run.
While this detects the common case of syscall availability,
copy_file_range() has a somewhat variable implementation on the
kernel side that can depend on certain per-filesystem features, etc.
In some implementations, a zero length copy can shortcut and return
success before ever invoking per-filesystem functionality and thus
not thoroughly testing the copy mechanism on the current system.
This can cause the test detection code to pass only to run into an
immediate failure on the first copy_file_range() call during the
test.

Tweak test_copy_range() to perform a small single byte copy to avoid
this problem. Also fix a typo bug in the errno check of the clone
range detection logic.

Signed-off-by: Brian Foster <bfoster@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Darrick J. Wong <darrick.wong@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Eryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
ltp/fsx.c