common: print hints for reasons of test failures
authorAmir Goldstein <amir73il@gmail.com>
Tue, 19 Apr 2022 12:56:37 +0000 (15:56 +0300)
committerZorro Lang <zlang@kernel.org>
Mon, 2 May 2022 04:15:52 +0000 (12:15 +0800)
commit28c52b15c6e245734d7f375bc04e1a71f1578842
tree4646c1aaa0f2b8efba598b9a8351ac6dddc62d51
parent6ee5ffa079b978e6369d2bc314655720c14d8b79
common: print hints for reasons of test failures

Introduce helpers _fixed_by_{kernel,git}_commit() and
_fixed_in_{kernel_,}version() that can be used to hint testers why a
test might be failing and aid in auto-generating of expunge lists for
downstream kernel testing.

A test may be annotated with multiple hints, for example:

_fixed_by_kernel_commit 09889695864 xfs: foo
_fixed_by_kernel_commit 46464565465 ext4: bar
_fixed_in_version xfsprogs v5.15

Annotate fix kernel commits for some overlayfs tests.
Annotate fix kernel version for some overlayfs tests testing
for legacy behavior whose fixes are not likely to be backported
to stable kernels.

This is modeled after LTP's 'make filter-known-fails' and
print_failure_hints() using struct tst_tag annotations.

Signed-off-by: Amir Goldstein <amir73il@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Zorro Lang <zlang@kernel.org>
28 files changed:
check
common/preamble
common/rc
tests/overlay/009
tests/overlay/010
tests/overlay/014
tests/overlay/016
tests/overlay/017
tests/overlay/018
tests/overlay/020
tests/overlay/022
tests/overlay/029
tests/overlay/038
tests/overlay/041
tests/overlay/042
tests/overlay/043
tests/overlay/044
tests/overlay/054
tests/overlay/055
tests/overlay/063
tests/overlay/065
tests/overlay/067
tests/overlay/070
tests/overlay/071
tests/overlay/072
tests/overlay/074
tests/overlay/077
tests/overlay/078