overlay: mount/unmount base fs before/after running tests
authorAmir Goldstein <amir73il@gmail.com>
Tue, 28 Feb 2017 12:18:36 +0000 (14:18 +0200)
committerEryu Guan <eguan@redhat.com>
Wed, 1 Mar 2017 10:35:52 +0000 (18:35 +0800)
commit2ab614524d618150b92abb029b499c84df34e26d
tree3f454ea2951498997fc35a9aabe3661a3972e1c8
parentbcba40e3df09d4a7e012bd52b086e1801131dee4
overlay: mount/unmount base fs before/after running tests

When TEST/SCRATCH_DEV are configured to the base fs block device,
use this information to mount base fs before running tests,
unmount it after running tests and cycle on _test_cycle_mount
along with the overlay mounts.

This helps catching overlayfs bugs related to leaking objects in
underlying (base) fs.

To preserve expected tests behavior, the semantics are:
- _scratch_mkfs mounts the base fs, cleans all files, creates
  lower/upper dirs and keeps base fs mounted
- _scratch_mount mounts base fs (if needed) and mounts overlay
- _scratch_unmount unmounts overlay and base fs

Tests that use _scratch_unmount to unmount a custom overlay mount
and expect to have access to overlay base dir, were fixed to use
explicit umount $SCRATCH_MNT instead.

The overlay test itself, does not support formatting the base fs,
so config options like MKFS_OPTIONS and FSCK_OPTIONS are ignored
on 'check -overlay'.
The config option MOUNT_OPTIONS is used to mount the base scratch fs.
The config option TEST_FS_MOUNT_OPTS is used to mount the base test fs.
The config option OVERLAY_MOUNT_OPTIONS is used to mount both test and
scratch overlay mounts.

Signed-off-by: Amir Goldstein <amir73il@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Eryu Guan <eguan@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Eryu Guan <eguan@redhat.com>
README.overlay
common/rc
tests/overlay/003
tests/overlay/004
tests/overlay/014