generic: Test filesystem lockup on full overprovisioned dm-thin
authorCarlos Maiolino <cmaiolino@redhat.com>
Thu, 13 Jul 2017 13:12:08 +0000 (15:12 +0200)
committerEryu Guan <eguan@redhat.com>
Wed, 13 Sep 2017 07:52:33 +0000 (15:52 +0800)
commit461dad511f6b91c524fd50f45dfb60c35726f601
treea957d6b8833d2fdd5375408c448b5b4471dfbb9c
parent37d7344ab692b7f80c2d0d6ca552bc3c95a6a751
generic: Test filesystem lockup on full overprovisioned dm-thin

With thin devices, it's possible to have a virtual device larger
than the physical device itself, and such situation can cause
problems to filesystems, once the filesystem 'believe' to have more
space than it actually has.

This can lead the filesystem to several weird behaviors. The one
tested here is filesystem lockup.

In case of XFS, it locks up when trying to writeback AIL metadata
back to the filesystem, but, once there is no physical space
available, XFS locks up and do not gracefuly handle this case.

Other filesystems usually are remounted as read-only, so they
already have this situation covered.

Signed-off-by: Carlos Maiolino <cmaiolino@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Brian Foster <bfoster@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Eryu Guan <eguan@redhat.com>
tests/generic/459 [new file with mode: 0755]
tests/generic/459.out [new file with mode: 0644]
tests/generic/group