fstests: run xfs_io with -i option if supported
authorAmir Goldstein <amir73il@gmail.com>
Mon, 17 Oct 2016 07:31:41 +0000 (10:31 +0300)
committerEryu Guan <eguan@redhat.com>
Fri, 21 Oct 2016 15:18:02 +0000 (23:18 +0800)
commit54659ecdb575782ec2b30aaf77cc7b1f5a7dd2ee
treea713ce0e586ac9a0f08ec90a0638de13019c9848
parentf182653c6bffd22c08cd3bf7ff1d8132bc43813d
fstests: run xfs_io with -i option if supported

Try to run xfs_io with command line option -i, which starts an idle
thread before performing any io.

The purpose of this idle thread is to test io from a multi threaded
process. With single threaded process, the file table is not shared
and file structs are not reference counted.

In order to improve the chance of detecting file struct reference
leaks, we should run xfs_io commands with this option as much as
possible.

Analysis of the effect of xfs_io -i on tests runtime showed that it
may lead to slightly longer run times in extreme cases (e.g +3s for
generic/132), but has a negligible effect on runtime of tests among
the 'quick' group (worst case +0.3s for generic/130).

Signed-off-by: Amir Goldstein <amir73il@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Eryu Guan <eguan@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Eryu Guan <eguan@redhat.com>
common/rc