tools: add a dm-logwrites replay tool
authorDave Chinner <dchinner@redhat.com>
Wed, 21 Jul 2021 00:13:33 +0000 (10:13 +1000)
committerEryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
Sun, 1 Aug 2021 09:51:26 +0000 (17:51 +0800)
commit80395bbcdb6baf149756414b223e1729f1690ee7
tree8b8177e02959e58010496b3722632e59485c5333
parent793ad50d595b9518611efc04943d9d2401812646
tools: add a dm-logwrites replay tool

Trying to decipher a dm-logwrites replay failure from generic/482 is
difficult. The test destroys all the dm state and devices when the
test fails, leaving nothing behind for post-mortem analysis. This
script is intended to allow replay of the dm-logwrites device one
FUA at a time similar to generic/482, and is used in conjunction
with a modifed g/482 test that does not tear down the dm volumes
or state when the test fails.

This allows the developer to replay the logwrites up to just prior
to failure to examine just the differences between the last good
state and the first failure state, greatly reducing the complexity
of analysing failures.

Instructions for use are in the tools/dm-logwrite-replay script
itself.

Signed-off-by: Dave Chinner <dchinner@redhat.com>
common/dmlogwrites
tests/generic/482
tools/dm-logwrite-replay [new file with mode: 0755]