generic: test zero page cache beyond new EOF on truncate down
authorEryu Guan <eguan@redhat.com>
Thu, 9 Nov 2017 08:32:42 +0000 (16:32 +0800)
committerEryu Guan <eguan@redhat.com>
Sat, 18 Nov 2017 05:34:27 +0000 (13:34 +0800)
commit80ec2dd71cebbfea069678f97b9c34e3286e9fb1
treee3b521cd0a643c840e5736a30c81e659f947c994
parent53803e93a00cc29bcd1b1e9bef9e7c0d651023a7
generic: test zero page cache beyond new EOF on truncate down

From mmap(2) manpage, "a file is mapped in multiples of the page
size. For a file that is not a multiple of the page size, the
remaining memory is zeroed when mapped", this test is to test this
behavior on truncate down.

This is inspired by an XFS bug that truncate down fails to zero page
cache beyond new EOF and causes stale data written to disk
unexpectedly and a subsequent mmap sees non-zeros post EOF.

Patch "xfs: truncate pagecache before writeback in
xfs_setattr_size()" fixed the bug on XFS.

Reviewed-by: Darrick J. Wong <darrick.wong@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Eryu Guan <eguan@redhat.com>
tests/generic/469 [new file with mode: 0755]
tests/generic/469.out [new file with mode: 0644]
tests/generic/group