btrfs: stop using run_check in _run_btrfs_balance_start
authorFilipe Manana <fdmanana@suse.com>
Tue, 14 Apr 2020 16:22:32 +0000 (17:22 +0100)
committerEryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
Sun, 19 Apr 2020 16:07:28 +0000 (00:07 +0800)
commitaf3d0c0ea9d84ce680fd91498a8769ebee92cc4f
tree0c62b455a65baed588e39d2b3de6a46212b1e978
parentab3b7f026e2114d8c480c9e36bc49d63b2c6d285
btrfs: stop using run_check in _run_btrfs_balance_start

The use of run_check() immediately stops a test because it calls the
_fail() function when execution of its argument fails. This is
generally not encouraged in fstests as it prevents a test from
detecting further problems after that failure.

Since the next patch in this series updates other tests to use
_run_btrfs_balance_start() for which a failure to run balance can be
expected (btrfs/187 for example), remove the use of run_check() from
_run_btrfs_balance_start(). Existing tests that use
_run_btrfs_balance_start() now redirect standard output to the
test's .full file for debugging purposes. In case balance fails the
tests will fail due to unexpected output from the standard error.

Signed-off-by: Filipe Manana <fdmanana@suse.com>
Reviewed-by: Eryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Eryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
common/btrfs
tests/btrfs/124
tests/btrfs/177