overlay: test unstable inode number
authorAmir Goldstein <amir73il@gmail.com>
Tue, 13 Dec 2016 06:18:29 +0000 (08:18 +0200)
committerEryu Guan <eguan@redhat.com>
Tue, 13 Dec 2016 06:28:23 +0000 (14:28 +0800)
commitfa8ec339e6cfc3784dc86c047ef49cb3713a8d2b
tree3e2052110d2710dd42c0989af17fe86022c3445b
parent131db6b27139e72d186f44c4fef5cb802ad94124
overlay: test unstable inode number

Introduce a new test to demonstrate a known issue with overlayfs:
- stat file A shows inode number X
- modify A to trigger copy up
- stat file A shows inode number Y != X

Also test if d_ino of readdir entries changes after copy up.

There is a POC patch by Miklos Szeredi that fixes this issue.

Not dealing with hardlinks here, because there is more to test
then stable inode number.
Hardlinks will get a test of their own.

Signed-off-by: Amir Goldstein <amir73il@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Eryu Guan <eguan@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Eryu Guan <eguan@redhat.com>
tests/overlay/017 [new file with mode: 0755]
tests/overlay/017.out [new file with mode: 0644]
tests/overlay/group