common/rc: fix ignoring of errors on
authorLuis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org>
Wed, 25 Aug 2021 21:15:20 +0000 (14:15 -0700)
committerEryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
Sun, 29 Aug 2021 13:08:21 +0000 (21:08 +0800)
Commit 0c95c8acb ("common: hide permision warning from mkswap for
exfat") and commit 08e93fa7c ("generic/554: hide permision warning on
exfat") removed a warning by grepping an error out. It however broke
use on older versions of bash such as 4.4.23:

./common/rc: line 2554: syntax error near unexpected token `>'
./common/rc: line 2554: `       MKSWAP_PROG "$fname" 2> >(grep -v 'insecure permission' >&2) >> $seqres.full'

Fix both instances by using a $(foo) to run the executable.

Cc: Pavel Reichl <preichl@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org>
Reviewed-by: Eryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Eryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
common/rc

index e0b6d50..46b6b22 100644 (file)
--- a/common/rc
+++ b/common/rc
@@ -2550,14 +2550,14 @@ _format_swapfile() {
        $CHATTR_PROG +C "$fname" > /dev/null 2>&1
        _pwrite_byte 0x61 0 "$sz" "$fname" >> $seqres.full
        # Ignore permission complaints on filesystems that don't support perms
-       $MKSWAP_PROG "$fname" 2> >(grep -v 'insecure permission' >&2) >> $seqres.full
+       $(MKSWAP_PROG "$fname" 2> >(grep -v 'insecure permission' >&2)) >> $seqres.full
 }
 
 _swapon_file() {
        local fname="$1"
 
        # Ignore permission complaints on filesystems that don't support perms
-       swapon "$fname" 2> >(grep -v "insecure permissions" >&2)
+       $(swapon "$fname" 2> >(grep -v "insecure permissions" >&2))
 }
 
 # Check that the filesystem supports swapfiles