overlay/031: fix failure with whiteout inode sharing
authorAmir Goldstein <amir73il@gmail.com>
Wed, 20 May 2020 08:53:44 +0000 (11:53 +0300)
committerEryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
Sun, 24 May 2020 16:47:57 +0000 (00:47 +0800)
Kernel commit c21c839b8448 "ovl: whiteout inode sharing" results in
a temp whiteout file resident inside work dir.

Test overlay/031 is a regression test for two user visible bugs:
1. Exposed whiteouts in overlay
2. Failure to remove directory

It also has a sanity tests for a harmless by-product of the bug -
a residue file in work dir.

The new temp whiteout file looks like a residue and causes the test
to fail.

Drop this sanity test, because it is not vital to the regression test.
We could also check if the residue is a single whiteout, but that is
not really needed, so best not poke into overlay internal work dir.

Signed-off-by: Amir Goldstein <amir73il@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Eryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Eryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
tests/overlay/031

index 2740c7c..d7a5adb 100755 (executable)
@@ -94,7 +94,6 @@ _overlay_scratch_mount_dirs $lowerdir1 $upperdir $workdir
 # try to remove test dir from overlay dir, trigger ovl_remove_and_whiteout,
 # it will not clean up the dir and lead to residue.
 rm -rf $SCRATCH_MNT/testdir 2>&1 | _filter_scratch
-ls $workdir/work
 
 $UMOUNT_PROG $SCRATCH_MNT