ext4/048: skip test of filename wipe if journal checkpoint is not supported
authorTheodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu>
Mon, 21 Jun 2021 16:48:51 +0000 (12:48 -0400)
committerEryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
Sun, 18 Jul 2021 06:37:47 +0000 (14:37 +0800)
ext4/048 will fail when running on older kernels that don't support
the filename wipe feature.  The journal checkpoint ioctl is a related
feature, and landed just a little bit after filename wipe feature, so
use support for the journal checkpoint ioctl as a proxy for support
for the filename wipe feature.

Without this change, this test will fail when tesing 5.10, 5.4, and
other LTS kernels.

Signed-off-by: Theodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu>
Cc: Leah Rumancik <leah.rumancik@gmail.com>
Tested-by: Yang Xu <xuyang2018.jy@fujitsu.com>
Reviewed-by: Leah Rumancik <leah.rumancik@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Eryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
tests/ext4/048

index 3f077b0..c23c0ea 100755 (executable)
@@ -86,6 +86,14 @@ _scratch_mkfs_sized $((128 * 1024 * 1024)) >> $seqres.full 2>&1
 # create scratch dir for testing
 # create some files with no name a substr of another name so we can grep later
 _scratch_mount >> $seqres.full 2>&1
+
+# Use the presence of the journal checkpoint ioctl as a proxy of filename
+# wipe being supported
+if test -x $here/src/checkpoint_journal && \
+       ! $here/src/checkpoint_journal $SCRATCH_MNT --dry-run ; then
+    _notrun "filename wipe not supported"
+fi
+
 blocksize="$(_get_block_size $SCRATCH_MNT)"
 mkdir $testdir
 file_num=1