generic: add helpers for dumping fs-verity metadata
authorEric Biggers <ebiggers@google.com>
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 22:35:35 +0000 (14:35 -0800)
committerEryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
Sun, 7 Mar 2021 16:49:45 +0000 (00:49 +0800)
In common/verity, add helper functions for dumping a file's fs-verity
metadata using the new FS_IOC_READ_VERITY_METADATA ioctl.

Signed-off-by: Eric Biggers <ebiggers@google.com>
common/verity

index 9a18224..38eea15 100644 (file)
@@ -120,6 +120,27 @@ _restore_fsverity_signatures()
         fi
 }
 
+# Require userspace and kernel support for 'fsverity dump_metadata'.
+# $1 must be a file with fs-verity enabled.
+_require_fsverity_dump_metadata()
+{
+       local verity_file=$1
+       local tmpfile=$tmp.require_fsverity_dump_metadata
+
+       if _fsv_dump_merkle_tree "$verity_file" 2>"$tmpfile" >/dev/null; then
+               return
+       fi
+       if grep -q "^ERROR: unrecognized command: 'dump_metadata'$" "$tmpfile"
+       then
+               _notrun "Missing 'fsverity dump_metadata' command"
+       fi
+       if grep -q "^ERROR: FS_IOC_READ_VERITY_METADATA failed on '.*': Inappropriate ioctl for device$" "$tmpfile"
+       then
+               _notrun "Kernel doesn't support FS_IOC_READ_VERITY_METADATA"
+       fi
+       _fail "Unexpected output from 'fsverity dump_metadata': $(<"$tmpfile")"
+}
+
 _scratch_mkfs_verity()
 {
        case $FSTYP in
@@ -157,6 +178,21 @@ _fsv_scratch_begin_subtest()
        echo -e "\n# $msg"
 }
 
+_fsv_dump_merkle_tree()
+{
+       $FSVERITY_PROG dump_metadata merkle_tree "$@"
+}
+
+_fsv_dump_descriptor()
+{
+       $FSVERITY_PROG dump_metadata descriptor "$@"
+}
+
+_fsv_dump_signature()
+{
+       $FSVERITY_PROG dump_metadata signature "$@"
+}
+
 _fsv_enable()
 {
        $FSVERITY_PROG enable "$@"