btrfs/143: make test case more reliable
authorLiu Bo <bo.li.liu@oracle.com>
Wed, 15 Nov 2017 23:47:59 +0000 (16:47 -0700)
committerEryu Guan <eguan@redhat.com>
Thu, 16 Nov 2017 09:04:03 +0000 (17:04 +0800)
This changes to use '_scratch_cycle_mount' to drop all caches btrfs
could have in order to avoid an issue that drop_caches somehow
doesn't work on Nikolay's box.

Also use bash -c to run 'read' only when %pid is odd so that we can
read the faulty disk.

Reported-by: Nikolay Borisov <nborisov@suse.com>
Signed-off-by: Liu Bo <bo.li.liu@oracle.com>
Tested-by: Nikolay Borisov <nborisov@suse.com>
Reviewed-by: Eryu Guan <eguan@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Eryu Guan <eguan@redhat.com>
tests/btrfs/143

index da7bfd8c4533d32a050703aa22c673634984a4f9..3875b6c43ba2c8e8794c0b80637ee91c9db7fb3a 100755 (executable)
@@ -127,16 +127,16 @@ echo "step 3......repair the bad copy" >>$seqres.full
 # since raid1 consists of two copies, and the bad copy was put on stripe #1
 # while the good copy lies on stripe #0, the bad copy only gets access when the
 # reader's pid % 2 == 1 is true
-while true; do
-       # start_fail only fails the following buffered read so the repair is
-       # supposed to work.
-       echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
-       start_fail
-       $XFS_IO_PROG -c "pread 0 4K" "$SCRATCH_MNT/foobar" > /dev/null &
-       pid=$!
-       wait
-       stop_fail
-       [ $((pid % 2)) == 1 ] && break
+while [[ -z ${result} ]]; do
+    # invalidate the page cache.
+    _scratch_cycle_mount
+
+    start_fail
+    result=$(bash -c "
+        if [[ \$((\$\$ % 2)) -eq 1 ]]; then
+                exec $XFS_IO_PROG -c \"pread 0 4K\" \"$SCRATCH_MNT/foobar\"
+        fi");
+    stop_fail
 done
 
 _scratch_unmount