new: allow users to specify a new test id
authorDarrick J. Wong <djwong@kernel.org>
Tue, 20 Jul 2021 01:08:22 +0000 (18:08 -0700)
committerEryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
Thu, 22 Jul 2021 15:43:57 +0000 (23:43 +0800)
Alter the ./new script so that one can set the test id explicitly.

Signed-off-by: Darrick J. Wong <djwong@kernel.org>
Reviewed-by: Eryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Signed-off-by: Eryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
new

diff --git a/new b/new
index 0714439..2097a88 100755 (executable)
--- a/new
+++ b/new
@@ -20,13 +20,24 @@ _cleanup()
 SRC_GROUPS=`find tests -not -path tests -type d -printf "%f "`
 usage()
 {
-    echo "Usage $0 test_dir"
+    echo "Usage $0 test_dir|test_dir_and_name"
     echo "Available dirs are: $SRC_GROUPS"
     exit
 }
 
 [ $# -eq 0 ] && usage
-tdir=tests/$1
+
+if echo "$1" | grep -q '/'; then
+       if [ -e "tests/$1" ]; then
+               echo "$1: test already exists."
+               exit 1
+       fi
+       tdir="tests/$(echo "$1" | cut -d '/' -f 1)"
+       id="$(echo "$1" | cut -d '/' -f 2)"
+else
+       tdir=tests/$1
+       id="$(basename "$(./tools/nextid "$1")")"
+fi
 
 i=0
 line=0
@@ -36,7 +47,6 @@ eof=1
 export AWK_PROG="$(type -P awk)"
 [ "$AWK_PROG" = "" ] && { echo "awk not found"; exit; }
 
-id="$(basename "$(./tools/nextid "$1")")"
 echo "Next test id is $id"
 shift