common/config: disable udevadm settle if CONFIG_NET is disabled
authorLuis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org>
Tue, 27 Jul 2021 20:10:42 +0000 (13:10 -0700)
committerEryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
Sun, 1 Aug 2021 13:27:40 +0000 (21:27 +0800)
If CONFIG_NET is disabled kobject_uevent_net_broadcast() will be a no-op
and so no uevent are sent and so 'udevadm settle' won't really do
anything for you.

We check for /proc/net to see if CONFIG_NET was enabled.

Signed-off-by: Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org>
Reviewed-by: Eryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Eryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
common/config

index adc16b5..005fd50 100644 (file)
@@ -240,7 +240,14 @@ else
        UDEV_SETTLE_PROG="$UDEV_SETTLE_PROG settle"
 fi
 # neither command is available, use sleep 1
-if [ "$UDEV_SETTLE_PROG" == "" ]; then
+#
+# Udev events are sent via netlink to userspace through
+# kobject_uevent_net_broadcast(), and udev in userspace is in charge of
+# handling the events. The command `udevadm settle` just checks if
+# /run/udev/queue is 0, however, a kernel without CONFIG_NET will have
+# kobject_uevent_net_broadcast() be a no-op, and so /run/udev/queue may not
+# exist or always be 0. We check for /proc/net to see CONFIG_NET was enabled.
+if [[ "$UDEV_SETTLE_PROG" == "" || ! -d /proc/net ]]; then
        UDEV_SETTLE_PROG="sleep 1"
 fi
 export UDEV_SETTLE_PROG